Latest in world cartOOnists

Indian Insntitute of Cartoonists is organizing a national cartoonists conference on 18th May 2009 at Bangalore. More than 100 cartoonists are expected to participate at the conference. The Institute will felicitate 7 (seven) leading cartoonists from all over India with ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’. The awardees are Sri. Unny, Chief Political Cartoonist, The Indian Express,Sri. Thomas (Toms), Kottayam, Kerala;Sri. Kaak, Gaziabad, UP, Sri. Vasant Sarvate, Mumbai, Maharashtra, Sri.T. Venkatarao, Vijayawada, AP; Sri. Prabhakar Raobail, Dharwar, Karnataka, Sri. Madhan, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

Maya Kamath Memorial Awards for Excellence in Cartooning-2008
will be given away to the winners of the Competition at the
Inaugural function. A cartoon workshop for budding cartoonists will also be oganised at the same time. An exhibition of the works of 7 leading cartoonists will be arranged at the Cartoon Gallery.

Special Honours

IIC will felicitate the Honourary Chairman and M.D, NICE Sri. Ashok Kheny with special honours for his great service to the field of cartooning by establishing Indian Cartoon Gallery, a first of its kind in India and for his continued patronage of the activities of the Institute.


Post a Comment